Return to Hunqapillar
Sort By::
page of 1


  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Just a Hunq, a 62cm Hunq of burning love October 16, 2012
Reviewer: Robert Harrison from Honolulu, HI United States  
[With apologies to Elvis]

Without a doubt my new Hunqapillar is the most comfortable and easiest to ride bike I own. Delivered 10 days ago, my 62cm has the standard build kit, a B-17 Select, Gripster Pedals, racks and fenders, as well as a Wald basket.

Packing was superb and I only had to put on a few bits and pieces myself. I was out and about within 90 minutes of opening the box (and would have been quicker had I not photgraphed the whole thing).

The bike fits my 95.5 PBH like a dream with the a 13cm Tallux stem holding up Alba bars with Silver bar ends.

I've had it on the road for at least an hour a day both as a daily commuter and as for afternoon rides with a few hills. This coming weekend I go camping and expect things will go swimmingly.

Thanks to all the RBWers who helped with my order, especially Brian who really went out of his way to make me happy!

Aloha and happy trails!

Bob

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Super Camp Bike September 3, 2012
Reviewer: Brian Hanson from Seattle, WA United States  
I have a 54cm in the original gray/bean color and have used it with Moustache and Porteur bars.  With the 50 Dureme tires, it rides solid, comfy, and stable.  It's set up like a truck, and I have plenty of rackage to hold 100 lbs if needed.  Love this bike!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Hunq Heaven June 7, 2012
Reviewer: Mike T. from Detroit  
Bought a 62 last year with a patient Keven guiding me, along with a Betty Foy for mine Ruth.  (He was spot on with the sizing, whew.)  It is the perfect bike for me.  Completely comfy with big ole Apples, soft and delightful nimble.  I ride it anytime, anywhere, just like I did my sting-ray when I was 12.  Yep, I'm a kid again.  Thank you, Grant, for designing and selling such a vehicle in these strange times.  Thank you, Keven, for all the decision help.  Thank you Mark for building it up so nice.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nimble and fleet of tire April 11, 2012
Reviewer: Elita from Utah  
I was surprised at how light and effortless pedaling this bike is.  I was between two sizes, the 48 and 51, and went with the 48.  While I think the 51 would have been great too, the 48 seems perfect.  I have never been this comfortable on a bicycle ever.  Grant and the crew at Rivendell have been super to talk with about building up the bike for exactly what I needed.  I will never need or want another bicycle- the Hunqa is truly my dream bicycle, and I have high hopes for many long hours spent in its saddle.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Wow. Amazing. Stable, Steady, Fleet. April 2, 2012
Reviewer: Patrick from Colorado  
I have constant neurological vertigo and recently discovered I could ride a bicycle again. I needed a stable, steady, hearty, beast of burden and figured a mammoth would do. What a stunning surprise to find a fleet of foot beastie as well!

Equally at home on pavement, dirt, single track, and even some more rugged trails (I'm sure the Hunqapillar is capable of more than I am). Loaded or just with enough for a day ride, the handling is superb.

Truly one bike for everything.

My only regret is that I didn't know how to bicycle like this when I was a young snot of a lad touring Europe after high school! Grin.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Looks stunning ... rides like a dream! December 2, 2011
Reviewer: Scott from Dana Point, CA  
The Hunqapillar is a joy to ride, goes anywhere I want to go without complaining (or making my body complain), and from what I can see, will still be ready for more when I'm no longer able.

It is supremely comfortable, but never lazy or sluggish, happy to move slowly or as fast as I can pedal, stable at all speeds ... and the first bike I've ever owned that I can actually ride no-handed (I always thought it was just my lack of skill).

It was quite a long while before I could afford this bike, and I'm very glad all the stars aligned and everything came together to finally make it happen.  It's worth every penny and every day, week, month, and year of waiting.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
58cm Perfect bike. October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Nelson Hollins from Scarborough, ON Canada  
This is the best bicycle i have had in 50 years & it will never be up for sale.
The 2nd toptube placed 1/2 way down the seattube , makes the best strengthened mainframe triangle: keeping the bb from sideways flexing.
The headtube is made stronger (less able to flex sideways), by this 2nd tt also.
The 460mm chainstays allow 55mm tire, fender, kickstand, & rack to fit together behind the bb easily.
Can't wait till Retirement , for a trip to BC from Ontario !
Way to go RBW's !
Thankyou !

Was this review helpful to you?

  8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
 
Hunqa Burning Love October 12, 2011
Reviewer: Patrick C from Falls Church, VA United States  
After much lusting and internet surveilling a call was placed to Riv, which Keven received. We talked for over an hour before any payment information exchanged. In short order an immaculate frame and fork arrived.

Without a rider, this bike presents as a rather normally-proportioned show stopper.  With a rider, however, this 58cm frame reveals itself as a behemoth. I once read of Riv frames that a rider felt that s/he rode in the bike instead of on the bike.  For this 6' rider to feel absolutely swallowed by a bicycle is a rare phenomenon, and one worth raving about.

What this bike did more than any other that I've owned is embody and encourage the your-carbon-bike-collects-dust-now, I-don't-click-when-I-walk-anymore, ooh-a-puddle-to-ride-through!, spandex-is-funny-looking, huh-Gary-Taubes-is-right, hey-honey-there's-now-a-bike-trail-from-D.C.-to-Pittsburgh, and all around good bicycle feelings!

Was this review helpful to you?