Return to Atlantis
Sort By::
page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
The bike for everything January 25, 2015
Reviewer: Jeremy Dearing from Saint Ann, MO United States  
When I first discovered Rivendell I was blown away that such a thing existed, and loved all of the bikes but never thought I could afford one. I did research and slowly bought all of my dream parts and built my "resurrectio" MB-3, but it was way too small among other limitations in versatility. I had a really good tax return the year I decided to drop the money on the frame. I have not once regretted the expense. The bike is just breathtakingly beautiful and really can be equipped with anything. Fat knobby tires, no problem. You know what, there's still room for fenders! Downtube bosses so you can run dt shifters, bar ends, whatever you want. I built mine with NOS mountain bike parts, very similar to the 93 MB-1 with Shimano 7 speed rear and Ritchey Logic triple up front.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Solid August 4, 2014
Reviewer: Mr. Banana Grabber from United States  
Despite owning a few other very nice bikes the Atlantis has ended up being my go to for almost everything. Perfect for commutes, groceries, long rides with friends, trails, and general nosing around/exploring. Set it up how you like it and you're likely to never look around for another bike.
As a testament to it's sturdiness I was rear ended by a car recently(going fairly fast). The wheels looked like tacos, components were shredded, the handlebars bent, etc. I had a shop check the frame thoroughly. The only thing that needed adjustment or realignment was a single dropout on the fork. The mechanic at the shop said he had never seen a bike with more flawless alignment.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Have one; love it October 31, 2013
Reviewer: Forrest Meyer from Chicago, IL  
I have one. I love it.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
The best bike in the world. June 18, 2013
Reviewer: Clayton Bailey from Bend, OR United States  
I bought my Atlantis in '97 or '98 or therabouts. I have used it without tenderness both as a hardcore backcountry bike packer, a daily commuter, a mountain bike, a road bike and as my "car". I have not owned a car in 4 years or so and went another few years without a car in the early part of the last decade. My Atlantis has been my only transportation during those periods. In the winter it gets spiked tires and ridden through deep snow. It frequently gets overloaded. With a proper touring load onboard, it is resilient and lively. Unloaded it's a bit stiff. Off road at speed, it's springy and absorbent. In other words it works perfectly as a touring/adventure bike.
  I love my Atlantis and constantly worry about it getting stolen. I sit and stare at it like I would watch a TV. How much more can I say? BUY ONE, you won't regret it. I am curious about the Hunqapillier though....

Was this review helpful to you?

  5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
 
58cm Staff Bike April 11, 2013
Reviewer: dave riv from berkeley, CA United States  
Disclosure: Employee

With the standard build kit and some big tires (i'm not big on too-fancy parts, i'm rough on my bikes) you can do anything in this bike. Now I have 40mm Schwalbe touring tires, fenders, basket and bags, and its my go-to commuter, throw on panniers and its ready for our overnight campouts, coastal road tours.   but it has led other lives. recently as an almost-29er monster cross trail machine. It has that versatility.  150mi High Sierra dirt tour, done.

I like that it's a pound heavier than the homer. thats my road machine, but it gets a lot less use now that this atlantis has the basket and fenders. I figure, what's a pound of frame weight to a 200lb guy in work boots and jeans carrying three water bottles and 20 pounds of crap around on a mountain bike trail?

I'm lazy with maintenance and cleaning, my fenders are wonky and ugly with age and it may make me look like bum on the street, but it still gets gawks from bike geeks on the sidewalk.

Was this review helpful to you?

  7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
 
Go-To Bike September 12, 2012
Reviewer: Tod Rodger from Newmarket, NH United States  
I bought my Atlantis 8 years and 45,000 miles ago as a semi-custom touring bike replacement for my aging Specialized Expedition.  I expected strength, reliability, and comfort for my 6-5 body; which I have found in spades.  I did not realize it would also become my go-to bike, the only one I have ridden for several years.  It still looks like new and gets many compliments, although naturally, I have replaced many components.  I am occasionally tempted by a new custom Independent Fabrications bike from their new factory in town, but what would it give me that I don't already have?

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
Best Purchase Ever May 13, 2012
Reviewer: Colin Rafferty from Brooklyn, NY United States  
I have had my Atlantis for ten years now, and it's been great.  I am 6'3", and when I first got it, I was 220 pounds, had a two-year-old on a seat on the rear and another ten pounds of gear on the front rack.  It handled like a dream then, and now that I'm 190 pounds and without a toddler on the back, it still handles beautifully.

It was one of the best purchases I've made in my life -- I'm always happy to get on it and ride.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
My Atlantis February 2, 2012
Reviewer: Bill Potts from Livermore, Ca  
I am really happy with my Atlantis for the following reasons: It is handmade by a craftsmen in the USA, it is steel which is the most environmentally friendly material for bike building, hopefully everyone involved with the product is making a living wage, it is beautiful, it rides nice, Rivendell is a local company for me.

There are a lot of good touring bikes out there currently, I chose to buy local and support craftsmanship. I am riding across the USA starting in May 2012, I'm sure there will be a lot of interest in this beautiful bike. I am also very fortunate to be able to afford this bike.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Love February 1, 2012
Reviewer: Dan J. from Berkeley, CA  
Yes, its true. I love, love, love my Atlantis! I never thought I bike could feel so good. What a beauty too. I knew I would have a good looking bike, but I never thought that it would be a head-turner that people would stop and admire and even photograph while it's locked to the meter.  Wow!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Best loaded touring bike I have ridden! December 29, 2011
Reviewer: Angus Lemon from Tyler, TX  
My Atlantis is my commuter, my loaded touring bike, my S24O bike and what I ride when I want gears and big tires.  The Atlantis handles a load extremely well, fully loaded I can ride "no handed" and climb out of the saddle.  What a great bicycle!

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items