Return to Just Ride
Sort By::
page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Permission Slip March 13, 2014
Reviewer: Mike from Scottsdale, AZ United States  
My first time writing a review, for anything, ever.  I read this book twice within a few days of receiving it and then lent it to a friend.  I think he summed it up best when he returned it..."It's like a permission slip to have fun".  Exactly.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Just Ride September 14, 2013
Reviewer: Ralf Grosser from Mühltal, Hessen Germany  
Dear Grant, I realy enjoyed reading your book ust ride.
I dont agree on all but on most of what you wrote about how to enjoy rideing bikes.
On Carbon frames, here is a story, I have from an engineer in Frankfurt, who worked for insurence companys. When steelframes failed he was given the compleat  failed frames to evaluate. Aluminium frames later came in sevaral pieces in a box.
Carbon frames nowdays, he only gets in small boxes, containing  even smaller broken apart bits.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Fun and informative reading June 3, 2013
Reviewer: K. K. from Maryland, United States  
I've ridden countless bicycles over the last 50 years or so, since those early, sunny days on Moreno Ave. in Palo Alto, Ca., but hadn't really given much thought to what I like and dislike about bikes generally, and the bike business, and why. I found that Just Ride's straightforward explanations and opinions about bike-riding, bike-equipping and everyday bike use, prompted recognition and new appreciation of many aspects of the full bicycling experience I may have only dimly considered or wondered about, but lacked the experience to generalize from. Now I can even feel slightly more justified in my previously vague biases for and against certain biking "tendencies", among other things. Thanks for your book and all your contributions to making bikes even more enjoyable and useful.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Just ride November 17, 2012
Reviewer: John McCarty from SIOUX FALLS, SD United States  
A good read especially for someone who is relatively new to recreational cycling.  Like the  cover states, it is a practical guide to riding your bike.  I enjoyed the constant encouragement of making riding "fun."

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Grant at his finest November 7, 2012
Reviewer: Marty from Oakland, CA United States  
Grant Peterson has a point of view about many things. It resonates for most of us, or we wouldn't be here. This book is a collection of his thoughts about cycling and other things as well.

Grant writes well and respectfully. And even when he is wrong (e.g., condemning carbs without distinguishing refined sugar from broccoli) he is provocative and thoughtful.

Get it. Read it. Enjoy it. And celebrate what Grant brings to cycling -- which is a lot.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Sanity in the otherwisehyper competitive community August 1, 2012
Reviewer: Bruce Day from Hendersonville, TN United States  
In a community dominated by "How to drop your buddies"  types it is nice to have the rest of us Freds represented.  Grant has much the same message as John Forester and Ken Kifer (with a few tweaks and without the evangelical tone) in an easily digested format.  My book ordered from Rivendell was personally autographed by Grant himself, a very nice touch.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Just Ride July 29, 2012
Reviewer: Michael C Tuomey from Huntington Woods, MI United States  
I'm pleased to have Grant's insights captured in one place.  Makes using his ideas as "course corrections" in my riding life easier than digging through a stack of Readers.  The essays resonate for me, as I've come back to biking on a Rivendell after a long spell away.  Nothing's going to spoil my rediscovered joy of jumping on my bike whenever I want, dressed as I am, and riding wherever I want.  Forever young on my bike, that's where "Just Ride" leads me.  Edit:  "Just Ride" made the 7/29 NYTimes Book Review (Dave Eggers).  Congrats to Grant!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Pied Piper for the Unracer. July 10, 2012
Reviewer: Gary Boulanger from Mountain View, CA United States  
Grant Petersen has been one of the most consistent voices in the bicycle industry since I met him in 1994, right before Bridgestone shuttered its U.S. office, and Grant switched to Rivendell mode. I worked with him in the early RBW days, learning plenty, before methodically (in hindsight) making my way westward to California, where I've enjoyed sharing several S24Os.

I received a copy of "Just Ride" from a publicist in June, and posted a review on the Bicycle Times website last week. I think my review paints a fair picture of the man behind the book, and what the book may mean to certain folks:

http://www.bicycletimesmag.com/content/book-review-just-ride-grant-petersen

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Pretty remarkable book June 20, 2012
Reviewer: Matt Hayden from Fremont, CA United States  
I got this book while running errands - on a bike - at Rivendell in WC last weekend.  Spent the next couple of days perusing it.

It's a thoughtful, well-written set of essays which collectively make the argument that a bike is a tool for getting point to point in a day-to-day useful way - carrying a person and some stuff faster and (often) easier than walking, cleaner than driving, and better for health than lots of other more sedentary travel options.  

It's sort of a manifesto for deliberate choices, too - I think Buddhists would call it "mindfulness."   The idea seems to be to be aware of what you're doing when dealing with riding, but not fussy or obsessive (though I obsessively wear a helmet...)

Grant makes the case that simply riding without obsessing is important - and I think he's right.  

Thanks for a great read.  This'd be great as an ebook.

Thanks to the staff at Rivendell who found a copy in the back room for me!

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Just Ride is just great. June 12, 2012
Reviewer: John Dilsaver from Sparta, MO United States  
The mix of philosophical ideas and nitty-gritty practical riding tips is a lot like a good ride where a scenic chat with riding buddies can be interrupted by a flat or the chance to help out another rider having a problem.

The handbook format and informal style encourages the reader to make notes in the margins and personalize the book just like we do our bikes.


Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items